FG Upgrade 4 Federal Colleges of Education To Universities!

LATEST report reaching us here at nigeriaschool.com.ng has it that the Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approve the upgrade of four(4) Federal Colleges of Education in Nigeria to the status of universities of education.

This information was announced by the Minister of Education, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau.

The Colleges of Education that are upgraded to Universities are;
1. Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo;
2. Federal College of Education, Zaria;
3. Federal College of Education, Kano; and
4. Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri.

* Federal College of Education, Zaria, will now be known as Federal University of Education, Zaria;

* Federal College of Education, Kano, will be called- Federal University of Education, Kano.

* Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri, is now approved as a university to be known as Alvan Ikoku University of Education.

According to Minister of Education, Mallam Ibrahim, this is to ensure quality teacher education in the country.

He also disclosed that the council approved the upgrading of the College of Medical Health Sciences under the Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, to Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo in Benue.

He said the approval was part of the Federal Government’s efforts to ensure the production of quality graduates into the various fields of medicine and sciences.

Share this news with your friends on twitter and Facebook.

About the author


About http://www.nigeriaschool.com.ng
We are a team that works to bring the latest news on all Nigerian Universities and Polytechnic.

To get the latest on your school, please be our friend on Facebook.com and you can also follow us on twitter.com/NigeriaSchools

If you have any questions or contributions, please use the contact us form to get in touch.

Leave a Comment