Skip to content
Home » SCHOOL » How to apply – Australian Scholarship Awards for 1000 African Students – 2017/18

How to apply – Australian Scholarship Awards for 1000 African Students – 2017/18

Scholarship Awards for 1000 African Students by the Australian Government

How to apply - Australian Scholarship Awards for 1000 African Students - 2017/18

The Australian Awards in Africa, an initiative of the Australian Government, is a pan-African program of development scholarships and fellowships that offers 1,000 postgraduate scholarships each year to eligible African professionals.

The Australia Awards currently comprise two types of scholarship: Australian Awards Scholarships (the Master Awards), to undertake higher degree studies in Australia at Masters level AND Australia Awards Short Courses, to undertake short-term, targeted professional training courses, in Australia and/or in Africa, in a range of development-focused sectors (the Africa Fellowships & the Australia Awards Fellowships). 

Course(s) Offered: Available courses

Course Level: Postgraduate (Masters’, PhD, short courses)

Country to Study in:  Africa, Australia


Refer to the country-specific pages for specific country-based scholarship information. You are eligible for an award if these apply:

  • You must be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application
  • You must have at least three years’ relevant postgraduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organization. Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience
  • You possess a minimum of a Bachelors’ degree or the equivalent from a recognized institution of at least four years with at least a 3rd class or Pass
  • Public sector candidates must comply with Government of your country regulations for government employees that want to apply
  • Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completing the National Youth Service Corp (for Nigerian candidates)
  • You must not already hold or be studying for a Masters’ degree
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award
  • You must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarship policy

Target Group

  • You are a national of an African country
  • You are an early or mid-career professional working in the public sector, the private sector or a NGO in one of the listed priority fields of study
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
  • You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance

Participating Institutions: All accredited institutions of higher learning in Africa and/or Australia

Fields of Study: Masters level, Doctoral level and short term professional training courses in various fields specific for different countries. Sectors of focus for AAA are agreed with each participating Partner Government. The country specific information for applicants’ home country will indicate what those priority sectors are (see ‘country specific details’ on official website via link below).

AWARD TYPES include:

  • Course Short Awards available for studies in a range of priority sectors including Agriculture, Maternal and Child Health, Mining Governance and Public Policy. Studies are conducted at locations in Africa and in Australia for periods up to 3 months.
  • Long-Term Awards are postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university.

PRIORITY FIELDS (which varies by African country):

  • Agriculture/Food Security
  • Education
  • Health
  • Public Policy (including public sector management, public sector reform, trade, international diplomacy)
  • Environmental Management
  • Natural Resource Management (including mining related subjects)
  • Technical and Vocational Education & Training (available for Short Courses only)
  • Energy (including Natural Gas and Oil Technology)
  • Infrastructure
  • Natural Resource Management
  • Transport (including Ports, Roads and Airports Management)

Number of awards
Up to 1000 scholarships will be granted

Sponsorship duration
For the whole duration of the Masters degree study, PhD program or short course stay

Scholarship benefits
This is a FULL government-sponsored award – thus covers full financial support for the postgraduate programmes

Method of Application
You need to obtain complete country-specific information, eligibility criteria and application process for the two types of awards. You can get this by going to your ‘country page’ on the official website.

When you visit the official page, select your country of origin (if country page) OR hover over the Africa map (if Africa country map). Follow the country-specific details and instructions to apply.
Applications from women and people with disability are strongly encouraged.
Applications will be accepted for the Australia Awards from 1st September 2016. Applications will only be received over a 4 month period from September to December each year.
The closing date for the 2017/18 Australia Awards Scholarships is 15 December 2016 for Scholarships and 15 January 2017 for the Short Courses.
For more information, click here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *